Rollover to Zoom 


Personnel: Dominic McGuinness (vocals, guitar, piano); Dominic S. John (vocals, guitar); Brendan Heaney (vocals, drums, percussion); Adrian Acolatse (vocals).
Audio Mixer: Mark Rankin .
Photographer: Gaëlle Beri.
Essex indie quartet the Bohicas arrive with a tailwind of hype on their 2015 debut, The Making Of. Their double-A-side single "XXX" and "Swarm" (both included here) arrived in 2014 heralding their newly inked deal with Domino and introducing a band with a razor-sharp, guitar-based sound whose roots lay in big-budget early-2000s indie and garage. Aided by a trio of rock industry producers in Mark Rankin (Queens of the Stone Age), Chris Hughes (Tears for Fears), and Oli Bayston (Toy), the Bohicas turn in a solid first effort populated with plenty of punch, crunch, and flashes of real vitality. "Only You" highlights some of their best aspects by pairing cool-groove verses with a warm, sunny call-and-response chorus chock-full of sweet harmonies. Opener "I Do It for Your Love" hums with a wiry intensity and some more of those nice thick harmonies supporting a clever chorus. Elsewhere, they effuse a laddish front, peppering their sound with jagged guitar riffs and showing a clear debt to bands like the Arctic Monkeys and the Strokes. There are plenty of inspired moments on The Making Of in spite of i's shiny veneer and slightly uneven makeup, making the Bohicas' debut a sturdy one. ~ Timothy Monger
  • Artist: BOHICAS
  • Genre: Popular Music
  • Product Type: Compact Disc
  • Release Date: 21-AUG-2015
  • Returns Accepted?: Yes
Publication Date20150821
Publisher ImprintAlternative Distribution Alliance

Making of


Write a Review
This item is unavailable right now.Telling you that an item is out of stock is basically the last thing we wanted to do. We're sorry.Sad Face