Thirty-five short works filled with the upsetting and uncanny, from the author of the urban fantasy Sam Brody series (Alliteration Ink) and the horror novella We Shadows Have Offended (Etopia Press). This newly revised and updated second edition includes eight pieces not found in the first release, featuring the never before published stories "The Apple Box,""Colleagues," and the poems "Floater" and "Il Necromantiosmo." Taylor reimagines both classic, familiar fairytales and superstitions ("Abaddon,""The Apple Box,""Rabbit Rabbit,""Trichotomy") and a sequence of Breton folk stories ("The Ankou,""Bugul Noz,""Dahut and the Destruction of Ys,""Gradlon,""Iannic-ann-od,""The Korrigan,""Les Lavandieres,""The Lovers,""The Morgen," and "Yan-Gant-Y-Tan"). She experiments with surrealist science fiction ("Alter Ego,""Arcus Senilis,""Encounter,""Eden") as well as gruesome body horror ("Ornithology,""Pseudanor"), crime noir (the multi-chapter "Christmas Wrapping"), and a literary fiction cycle based on the concept of the four humors of Hipprocratic medicine ("Choleric,""Melancholic,""Phlegmatic," and "Sanguine"). Every story deals with the gray zone between wonder and disaster and people on the fringe of society, magic, or their own damaged psyches.
  • ISBN13: 9781475211931
  • Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
  • Pubilcation Year: 2013
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 00152
Publication DateJune 14, 2013
Primary CategoryFiction/Science Fiction - Collections & Anthologies
Sub Category 1Fiction/Short Stories (single author)

Grinning Cracks

Write a Review
This item is unavailable right now.Telling you that an item is out of stock is basically the last thing we wanted to do. We're sorry.Sad Face