Rollover to Zoom 



Arthur Stuart-Menteth Hutchinson (1880-1971) was a British novelist. He also know as A. S.M. Hutchinson. He wrote romance and family novels as well as short stories for publications such The Sphere Magazine. His best-selling novel, If Winter Comes (1921), was in many aspects ahead of its time, dealing with an unhappy marriage, eventual divorce, and an unwed mother who commits suicide. According to the New York Times, If Winter Comes was the best-selling book in the United States for all of 1922. In 1922, his book This Freedom was published to controversy, seen by the women's rights movement as an anti-feminist novel. However, it proved to be highly successful and was ranked by the New York Times as the 7th best-selling book in the United States for 1923 and the 6th best for all of 1924. The next year, he had another success with One Increasing Purpose that was the 10th best-selling book of 1925. His other works include Once Aboard the Lugger (1908), The Happy Warrior (1912), The Clean Heart (1914), The Book of Simon (1930), and Big Business (1932).
  • ISBN13: 9781406596199
  • Publisher: Dodo Press
  • Pubilcation Year: 2008
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 00356
Publication DateFebruary 22, 2008
Primary CategoryFiction/General

If Winter Comes (Dodo Press)

Write a Review

Free Shipping over $35 and Free Returns