Originally called Sippican for the Native Americans who lived here, the town of Marion has a long and rich history, which can be seen here in over two hundred beautiful photographs. Settled by twenty-nine Pilgrim families in 1678, its shores have since attracted artists, writers, and architects, as well as two U.S. presidents. Henry James s characters visited Marion in The Bostonians, and Century Magazine highlighted the summer community in its pages at the start of the twentieth century. Located on Buzzards Bay, the town of Marion has evaded the real estate development that has destroyed many historic towns. Many of the original houses built in Marion between 1690 and 1920 still remain. Each chapter in Marion is dedicated to a distinct area in this charming seaside town and to the notable people who made Marion their summer home. Old Landing, Wharf Village, Water Street, and the Tabor Academy campus are just a few of the neighborhoods captured in these pages."