The Shifting Sands The Shifting Sands started as a collection of songs written by Michael McLeod after deciding to take a new direction from his previous band The Alpha State (who released an acclaimed album quot;Linesquot; on Failsafe Records in 2008). McLeod embarked upon making what began as a solo album, along the way collaborating with many of Dunedin's finest musicians past and present, including David Kilgour (The Clean), Robert Scott (The Clean, The Bats), Robbie Yeats (The Verlaines, The Dead C), Lesley Paris (Look Blue Go Purple), Jay Clarkson (The Expendables, Breathing Cage), Rob Falconer (Operation Rolling Thunder), and Tony de Raad and Tom Bell (David Kilgour & the Heavy Eights). Production duties were shared between Tex Houston (The 3Ds - Hellzapoppin, The Clean - Mister Pop) Thomas Bell (The Clean - Getaway, David Kilgour and Sam Hunt - Falling Debris, Left by Soft), and McLeod himself. The debut album by The Shifting Sands is the kind of psychedelic pop we love at Fishrider Records, alternating between the dreamy and the urgent. While the hyper-melodic jangle-pop sometimes references the quot Dunedin soundquot;, the injection of synthesizer and sitar into the mix turns everything on it's head. As indeed does the balance of extremes provided by the almost weightless floating-on-air of the title track quot;Feelquot; against the surging Eastern drone-pop of quot;The Kitchen Sinkquot; The album seems soaked in the atmosphere of life on the remote South East coast of this unstable island on the edge of the world - the light and dark, the joy and melancholy, the open spaces of the inland planes and claustrophobia of Dunedin's perimeter of often cloud-lined hills. 'An album of beautifully-textured psychedelic pop.' Otago Daily Times.
  • Shifting Sands - Feel [CD]
  • Music


Write a Review

Free Shipping over $35 and Free Returns