Rollover to Zoom 



The subjects of space and texture in the structure of music and the issues of time and continuity, are recurrent themes in my music. Treize Etudes Pour L'Orchestre is a thirteen-movement composition for full contemporary orchestra. This work concretizes my interest and studies in texture and its continuity throughout time as it progresses in a sonic exploration of textural possibilities through the orchestral medium. The piece represents the cathartic memento of a motivic line of work. It evolved sequentially from the starting point of a series of piano pieces into piano and cello, and two-piano etudes, and culminated with the thirteen orchestral etudes. The smaller pieces, as well as the complete symphonic work, are all included in the appendix. Thematically, the orchestral work does not represent an orchestration of the smaller pieces, but an expansion of the material into different textural ideas. It focuses strictly on acoustic sound production and its textural possibilities. The present monograph provides an analytical study of the music. It discusses aesthetic and theoretical elements: form, melody, harmony, rhythm, timbre, instrumentation, texture and compositional devices.
  • Genre: Music
  • Pages: 272
  • Author: Sylvia Constantinidis
  • ISBN: 3848427087
  • Publisher: AV Akademikerverlag GmbH & Co. KG.
Publication DateMarch 14, 2012
Primary CategoryMusic/Instruction & Study - General

Space and Time Continuity: On My 13 Etudes Pour L'Orchestre

Write a Review

Free Shipping over $35 and Free Returns 

$0.63 off if you opt out of free returns