Rollover to Zoom 

Description

Hailed as one of the key poets of the modern era, Eugenio Montale changed Italian poetry forever and helped to create international Modernism. Steeped in the tradition of Dante, Petrarch, and Leopardi, yet fiercely innovative, in each new book Montale challenged the styles he had previously established. His poems chart an adventure of consciousness and conscience in response to the shocks of modernity, fascism, and two world wars, and they also present several of the greatest erotic sequences in modern poetry.

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale publishes for the first time in English William Arrowsmith's pellucid translations of Poetic Diary 1971, 1972, and the Poetic Notebook, as well as his previously published translations of four volumes: Cuttlefish Bones, The Occasions, The Storm and Other Things, and Satura. With the wide range of Montale's poetry at last available to the English reader, this collection reveals Montale to be the greatest Italian poet of the twentieth century.

  • ISBN13: 9780393080636
  • Publisher: W. W. Norton & Company
  • Pubilcation Year: 2012
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Pages: 00793
Specifications
FormatPaperback
Publication DateJanuary 30, 2012
Pages793
Primary CategoryPoetry/European - Italian

The Collected Poems of Eugenio Montale

Write a Review
0
This item is unavailable right now.Telling you that an item is out of stock is basically the last thing we wanted to do. We're sorry.Sad Face