Rollover to Zoom 



First published in 1859, this is the second of three volumes of Howard Staunton's collection of Shakespeare's plays, with black-and-white illustrations by the prolific artist John Gilbert. Staunton's annotated edition, based on the folio and quarto editions collated with the texts of later editors from Rowe to Dyce, combines common sense with meticulous research, making it a definitive resource in its day. Each play is accompanied by an introduction giving details of its original production and publication and the sources of its plot, critical commentary, and footnotes explaining terms and expressions. This volume contains All's Well That Ends Well, Henry V, As You Like It, Pericles, Prince of Tyre; Twelfth Night, Henry VI Part I, Henry VI Part 2, Henry VI Part 3, Timon of Athens, Richard III, Measure for Measure, Henry VIII, and Cymbeline.
  • ISBN13: 9781108000031
  • Publisher: Cambridge University Press
  • Pubilcation Year: 2009
  • Format: Paperback
  • Pages: 00784
SeriesCambridge Library Collection: Literary Studies
Publication DateJune 3, 2009

The Staunton Shakespeare

Write a Review

Free Shipping over $35 and Free Returns 

$0.42 off if you opt out of free returns